Let There Be Light …

31 05 2008

As you know (“you” indicating the four or five people who regularly read this tripe), I find a great deal of mirth in shooting at sacred cows. One of my favorite things in life is to heap scorn upon the inexcusably stupid and to mock and belittle those with closed minds and a smug sense of superiority. I am especially fond of demolishing the sense of superiority among those who are profoundly undeserving of that attitude- most of them, in other words.

In general, I find that people who believe themselves to be superior are trying desperately to convince themselves. These are the folks who insist that black is white, up is down, and that the Emperor is fully clothed in the face of all evidence to the contrary because believing otherwise would somehow destroy the cozy little fictional universe they have created for themselves.

Pointing out that the Emperor is not, in fact, wearing any clothes is the duty of everyone whose brain cells are not obliged to make long-distance calls to communicate. Inexcusably stupid statements demand to be called out for what they are, and those making such statements should be verbally destroyed in public to (hopefully) teach them to engage their brains before removing the brakes on their mouths in the future.

Unfortunately, this only works with actual facts. As an engineer, I like facts. Facts are backed up by actual evidence and reproducible results. In other words, empirical data and objective evidence. These are the tools of rational thinking and the scientific method.

These are not the tools of faith and religion. There are a great many people on this planet who profess a belief in one deity or another who are fine people- good to their families, generous to the poor, and generally good citizens in every sense of the word. In spite of their mania, these people are generally not bad sorts to have around, invite over for a barbecue, lift a few glasses with, or date.

Sadly, a small but vocal minority of these people are wingnuts and whackjobs of the first water. When it comes to closed minds and undeserved senses of superiority, these people have it in spades. Since actual evidence for the existence of their Angry Invisible Skyman is not available, they refuse to believe that evidence to the contrary has any meaning. The scientific method demands proof and reproducible results before stating facts. These people of faith cannot produce proof, evidence, or reproducible results for any of their beliefs, so the scientific method must go. This sort of blinkered, philistine pig-ignorance leads to atrocities in the name of Angry Invisible Skyman.

Whenever possible, religious zealots try to enact their stupidities into law. This often leads to serious problems (pogroms, Inquisitions, Crusades, rebellions, massacres, etc), and always leads to manifold stupidities.

In a great many television shows, for example, the word god is bleeped out. Even when combined into goddamn, god gets deleted while damn is left alone. It is censored on almost every network. WTF? The god fetishists claim that it is wrong to take god’s name in vain. Last time I looked, the name of the deity christians, jews, and muslims worship is not god. It’s either Jehovah, Yahweh, El, or Allah (depending on which flavor of Angry Invisible Skyman you’re into). God is simply a title. Why not censor president, chairman, officer, or mayor, if you’re going to censor titles? Quite aside from the stupidity of forcing everyone within range of the television broadcasts to comply with one religion’s beliefs, this is just wrong on its face- even going by the god fetishists’ own rules.

A similar bit of stupidity has cropped up regarding images of the muslim prophet, Mohammed. Even according to the muslim sacred texts, Mohammed is not to be worshipped. But the fact that a couple of Danish cartoonists drew pictures of this historical figure sparked riots, death threats, and a great deal of general unpleasantness. Again, aside from the asinine attempt to make everyone comply with one religion’s beliefs, this isn’t even one of those beliefs. Ditto for a Wikipedia entry showing contemporary drawings- by muslim artists, no less- of Mohammed.

This sort of thing is stupid. I have a low tolerance for stupidity, but when someone wants to force me to practice their stupidity, I start looking around for a weapon. When someone screams that I must say, “Peace be upon him” after naming Mohammed, I promptly invite them to eat a bowl of dicks. If they persist, I like to throw pork at them and show them the bottoms of my shoes. When people shriek that I cannot speak the name of a certain zombie jew, I take a great deal of pleasure informing them that the man’s name was not Jesus, it was most likely Yehoshua or Joshua ben Yosef. I also enjoy reminding them that christ is another title- in this case Greek. This sort of thing gets the religious dumb-asses all spun up- every time.

Another persistently annoying batch of idiots are those who insist that the bible is the literal word of their god. Really? I’m pretty sure that English didn’t evolve as a language until the Middle Ages, and I’m absolutely certain that the authors of the original documents did not write in English. The original semitic languages did not have written characters for vowel sounds. The vowel sounds were inferred from context- thus YEHOSHUA would actually have been written as YHSH (actually HSHY, since the semitic languages are and were written from right to left). So if a Greek translator (for example) were trying to transcribe the original documents (more likely copies of copies of the originals), he would have to guess at the meaning unless he had the assistance of a native speaker who could also read. Since those people were generally the religious classes, this sort of help was unlikely to be forthcoming. Even assuming that the translator could speak as well as the natives and had no personal agenda to follow, the mere act of translation involves a great deal of approximation. I use this argument whenever some god-fetishist refuses to go away and insists on trying to “convert” me. It happens more often than you’d think.

Mind you, I don’t go out of my way (most of the time), to say and do these things. I rarely have to seek out the religiously stupid- they take the time and trouble to find me. If they continue to pester me after I’ve told them to go away, then I have no problem with abusing them to the greatest extent possible. Pointing out the ignorance and stupidity of the willfully ignorant and stupid is not impolite or cruel, it is a necessity. It is also a survival mechanism for our civilization. Allowing outspoken stupidity to go unchallenged is to be complicit in its ascendancy. I, for one, will not be a party to the destruction of our civilization and society at the hands of the religious barbarians in our midst.

Current status: Disgruntled

Current music: Pachelbel’s Canon in D


Actions

Information

7 responses

31 05 2008
betme

Well put. I find most religious zealots to be superstitious fools.

(and the ” I promptly invite them to eat a bowl of dicks.” was a nice touch)

31 05 2008
archvillain

betme– Glad you liked it. I wish I could say I came up with that phrase, but I stole it from someone else at FARK.com.

IMO, all religious zealots are superstitious fools. I can tolerate religious folks who keep their superstitions to themselves. It’s the rabid nutjobs I have a hard time dealing with.

Actually, that’s not quite true. I have no problem dealing with them, I just have a great deal of trouble restraining the urge to beat them to death with whatever is handy. I believe that they would deserve such treatment, but I no longer live in Texas, so the He needed killin’ defense no longer applies.

2 06 2008
betme

Living in Texas has its benefits and drawbacks. The Castle Doctrine makes it easier to take care of business, but we have the Bible belt indoctrinated opinions running wild.

I had to chuckle when hearing a preacher claim that God blessed him with the knowledge he needed to escape from the clutches of a gator. Too bad god did not also bless him with the knowledge to avoid the gator in the first place.

I am not against religion, as it teaches the basics; thou shall not kill and thou shall not steal. I even appreciate the fact that many adhere to the teachings out of their fear of god. Whatever it takes to keep others from beating me to a pulp and stealing my pennies is alright by me.

I just wish they would stop trying to tell me I am going to hell. But I do enjoy the shock on their faces when I shrug and ask, “Should I care?”

2 06 2008
archvillain

betmeI just wish they would stop trying to tell me I am going to hell. But I do enjoy the shock on their faces when I shrug and ask, “Should I care?”

Applause.

I like to use, “I’ll save you a seat by the fire“, but I like yours better.

Your little parable about the preacher reminds me of a joke: If a bus loaded with thirty nuns goes off a cliff and only three of them survive, is their survival a miracle or is god just a dick for slaughtering twenty-seven nuns?

8 06 2008
» Carnival of the Godless #93 Disillusioned Words: atheism, logic, politics

[…] presents Let There Be Light … posted at A Dark and Sinister Force for Good, saying, “Opposing religious stupidity is a […]

9 06 2008
Sue Blue

I loved this! I only wish more people were willing to stand up and scream “bullshit” in the face of these god-drunk pinheads. I hate it when atheists and secularists pussy-foot around, being oh-so-polite in an effort not to appear “intolerant”. Why should intelligent people have to eat shit and pretend it tastes good, just so the shitters won’t have their feelings hurt? If they stink, they should be told they stink.

Thank you for calling it like it is.

9 06 2008
archvillain

Sue Blue– you should visit The Barefoot Bum. He’s far better at this than I. I’m not a fan of his politics, but he tends to tear into the “god-drunk pinheads” (great phrase, BTW) with a ferocity that’s little short of breathtaking. I have a link to his blog in my Blogroll.

For a long time, I’ve been far more polite to the throngs of theistic wingnuts which infest our country than they deserve. This was largely out of childhood training to say nothing if it wasn’t nice. The more I encounter them, however, the more I grow convinced that their world view is a malign influence on our Republic and the world. Those of us who managed to avoid leaving our brains in the collection plate have a responsibility to oppose the religiously stupid at every turn. Failure to do so will result in a nation of people like Phred Phelps and Ayatollah Ruhollah Khomeini.

Leave a comment