Lesser Evil?

14 06 2008

The death of Tim Russert has had one good effect on the nation: we’re spared the endless spewing of partisan douchebaggery for a few days while the media indulges in the Life and Miracles of Saint Russert retrospective. As annoying as this will be, it will still be a welcome break from the political burlesque that is the US General Election pre-game show.

I generally try to ignore the political campaign season, because I value my freedom. If I were forced to endure the shameless pandering and barely-veiled slander of the various campaigns for long, I’d go berserk and end up in a mental institution or prison- maybe both.

This particular campaign season has been particularly difficult to ignore. It apparently started back when the Earth’s crust started to cool, and won’t end until the Supreme Court rules on the inevitable challenge to the November election results in mid-December (of this year, I hope). The hysteria surrounding this election has not flagged one iota. If anything, the followers of the respective candidates have grown ever more rabid with each passing day. McCainiacs shriek endlessly about the death of American civilization as we know it should the Antichrist get elected, while the disciples of the Obamessiah literally flagellate themselves into bloody lather about the many miracles He will perform if we only pray into a voting booth to Him.

A pox on both their houses.

I will not try to tell anyone which candidate is best. Every election is a choice between a turd sandwich and a giant douche, so the word best doesn’t really apply. I’ve looked at both candidates, and neither one of them strikes me as being good for this country. Furthermore, the most vocal followers of both candidates are generally certifiable whackjobs. This does not inspire confidence. Since neither candidate seems to be a good choice, I refuse to vote for either one.

This is becoming a pattern with me. I wrote in Jon Stewart for the last presidential election. In 2000, I voted for Xenu. Some time back, I mentioned that I would be voting for Ralph Wiggum and Lisa Simpson, but I’ve changed my mind, having found a candidate who fits my requirements far better.

Why Vote for a Lesser Evil?

Yes, that’s right. I will be writing in Great Cthulhu for President of the United States in November. What’s not to like? Unlike either of the current candidates, Cthulhu is straightforward and open about his intentions. He will not discriminate against any race, religion, or gender. Cthulhu will reward his followers with cosmic powers, so the Earth will be engulfed in cataclysm from the resulting bacchanal of riotous freedom.

The Servants of Cthulhu are notorious for their selfless diligence in working toward the resurrection of their dread Master- destroying those who discover their secrets, conversing with creatures from beyond the sky, and holding eldritch, clandestine meetings to pass on the knowledge of the Great Old Ones. When you think about it, they’re enormously preferable to the followers of McCain or Obama.

Why choose the lesser Evil?

Here’s a little filksong on the subject:

(to the tune of Wichita Lineman, by Glenn Campbell)

I am a follower of Cthulhu, and I lead a mad horde

Searching everywhere for our vanished Overlord.

And though we need him more than want him

Still we’ll have him for all time

When his city of R’lyeh

Ascends from the sli-i-i-i-i-i-i-i-i-i-me!


You see, I met this mad Arab, and he showed me his book.

I thought it couldn’t hurt just to have one little look.

And though I couldn’t read the language,

it did something to my mind.

Now I’m searching for something

I’d rather not fi-i-i-i-i-i-i-i-i-i-i-nd!

Current status: Nauseous

Current music: The Future Soon by Jonathan Coulton


Actions

Information

3 responses

16 06 2008
Turkish Prawn

Cthulhu and Jonathan Coulton…

I knew there was a reason I liked this blog. 😉

Turkish Prawn

16 06 2008
prairieflounder

Have you noticed how in every job, besides politician, there are distinct qualifications and educational requirements to qualify for the job? How did it happen that our political leaders get elected the same way as a prom queen? How about some minimum standards for education, experience, and ethics? It’s too bad that the only people who are willing to lead the free world are the people who should no be given the responsibility.

Ph’nglui mglw’nafh Cthulhu R’lyeh wgah’nagl fhtagn

-pf

17 06 2008
archvillain

PF- I think there are qualifications for politicians.

1- Demonstrated willingness to jettison morality, ethics, and logic in order to get elected.
2- Paranoid certainty that you hold all the answers and everyone else is not merely wrong, but also Evil.
3- Demonstrated lack of convictions on any given subject until the poll results are in.
4- Leave a trail of slime behind you everywhere you go.
5- Demonstrated willingness to sacrifice the greater good for your own self-interest.
6- Lifelong addiction to money and power.

Anyone who possesses 4 or more of these attributes is qualified to be a politician. Anyone who possesses all of these attributes is not qualified to be anything else.

That is not dead which can eternal lie, and with strange eons even Death may die.

Leave a comment